Bush fires and my garden

View from kitchen window last Friday evening.

View from kitchen window last Friday evening.

This  is the  evening of the fifth day of the latest bushfires in the Blue Mountains.  And I am packed to leave early tomorrow morning.

I have lived on the edge, but away from the flames, in Blackheath in 1994 and 2006. Each time the fire went into the Grosse Valley on the otherside of Blackheath.  In 2002/3 I  lived at Springwood  waiting for the fire to come but the backburning by the RFS meant that this fire did not come. however we awoke on New Year’s Day to 2 fire trucks on the front lawn and the backburning happening around the old Citroens.

View from my deck in Blackheath today of back burning.

View from my deck in Blackheath today of back burning.

Chris and Leesa stayed in their house at Yellow Rock when the fire front passed on Boxing Day 2002. They saved their house. They were out when the high winds sent the fire last Thursday down Singles Ridge Road. They spent the night with Leesa’s parents and discovered at 8am the next day that their house was spared while so many around them were destroyed.

Now I am about to leave and hope it is to get out of the way and not be a problem for the firies. But I am very attached to my garden.

One of the original rhodos

One of the original rhodos

There were 2 rhodos in the back part of my block when bought it in 1990.

Waratahs are native to this area.

Waratahs are native to this area.

Since I moved to live here in 2005 I have totally redesigned the garden and focused on growing veggies, fruit trees, berries and I have chooks. After my trip across Central Asia seeing grapes from Turpan to Istanbul and throughout the Balkans I have grapes beginning to grow along a fence.

Espalier apple trees and raspberries

Espalier apple trees and raspberries

Espalier apples trees, laden with fruit and raspberries suffering from lack of water.

Leeks, garlic and onions

Leeks, garlic and onions

Best crop of garlic ever, onions and leeks.

French sorrel and sage

French sorrel and sage

I grow my herbs in pots on my deck following Bill Mollison’s advice “Herbs need to be close to door so you can go out and get them at the last minute in your pink fluffy slippers” The mind boggles of Bill and the slippers.

Broad beans

Broad beans

Broad beans looking towards the pear trees.

I have now had chooks for 4 years, very entertaining, greatly frustrating and a source of great eggs and compost.

Brenda and Blanche

Brenda and Blanche

They are not the brightest, today when I offered a snail they were so excited they were unable to locate the door from the pen to the run. Brenda grabbed it first as usual and then came back to check that my hands did not have another one.

As I expect to be back soon I planted 4 tomato plants today following my father’s advice that tomatoes are planted on Hobart Show Day. I know this is not Hobart but Blackheath like Hobart should mean the end of frosts.

I will keep you all informed.

12 Comments

Filed under My Garden

12 responses to “Bush fires and my garden

  1. Kerry Ilsley

    So pleased to get your update re house, garden and chooks. Your property looks fabulous. Our NZ bike ride & walk a spectacular success.Kerry

    Like

  2. Jacinta Sinclair

    Thanks for the photos – that was delightful! I hope Brenda and Blanche aren’t too traumatised. I’m glad you planted the tomatoes We’re planting ours on Friday. Word is that Blackheath should be fine, but it’s always good as a firie to to know that there’s less people to worry about. Love from Tassie.

    Like

    • All turned out very well. The fire was contained by the wonderful firies, many returned later that Wednesday but an emergency fire situation was declared with winds on Thursday afternoon so I collected chooks and returned Friday. Chooks argued with their host chooks.
      What with heat and high winds there was a frost at Blackheath Friday morning but seedlings survived.
      I need a rethink on what I take as I am sure this recommendation will happen again.

      First resolution to convert slides from year in Germany to digital. This would save 2 boxes.
      Many thanks to all for your best wishes.

      Like

  3. Jan Hume

    I hope it all survives – too beautiful to be burnt to smithereens.
    Jan

    Like

  4. Glenda

    You have an amazing garden, my best wishes and prayers for your safety and your little plot of heaven on earth

    Like

  5. elephantwoman

    Oh your garden is lovely, I really hope it and your chooks and your home will remain safe while you are away.

    Like

  6. I sure hope that nothing happens to your fantastic garden! Are you taking your chooks with you?

    Like

  7. Emma Parker

    Fingers crossed mum xxxx

    Like

  8. Margaret Carroll

    Hope it is all there to come back to. Love the show day recommendations. My grandfather lived with us in Moonah and all planting was done by special days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

