Brasov

Bran Castle known as Dracula's Castle

Bran Castle known as Dracula’s Castle

I had no inclination to visit Romania. But I was to end my tour in Istanbul and I wanted to go to Budapest by train so why not stop in Romania.
I am so glad I did. I had very positive experiences.

Brasov is 2 hours by train from Bucharest a place tourists go to ski and to visit Dracula’s Castle. It was in fact mostly a summer home for a royal family.

Tea House in grounds of Bran Castle built for the Queen to take her tea in the afternoon.

Tea House in grounds of Bran Castle built for the Queen to take her tea in the afternoon.

Brasov in Transylvania has a population of Romanians, Germans and Hungarians and has a long and complicated history as to which country it belongs.

Peles Castle, Transylvania

Peles Castle, Transylvania

This is a very impressive building used in the summer by the royal family. It was modernised at the end of the 19th century so that it has had central heating since 1883, an elevator and central vacuum cleaning which still works.

Rasov Fortress

Rasov Fortress

This was big enough to take in the whole village, has a water supply and there was a school for the children.

6 Comments

Filed under Istanbul to Vienna

6 responses to “Brasov

  1. elephantwoman

    I guess the Chinese government wants a relationship with the country, hence the Confucious Institute. We have one in Sydney too. I suppose they’re a little bit like the British Council or Alliance Francaise?

    Like

  2. Jan Hume

    Pat, thanks for all your beautiful photos. Beats all the other emails I receive by miles.

    Like

  3. I loved Romania! I was so glad I included it on a trip (which also included Turkey and Budapest!).

    Like

Leave a comment